Coming Back SWEnging #9

Andrew Deng
3 min readOct 25, 2020

--

Finally posting after 2 weeks of a hiatus

What did you do this past week?

Let’s see… project, project, test. In addition to completing Phase II for this class, my virtualization group also had a due date this week. We ended up using a few of our slip days on that one, though. I also had a chemistry exam to grind for and I got away alright. After all that was done, I finally left my house after 2 1/2 weeks staying here cooped up due to my immense workload. Voted, got a haircut, went shopping, made dumplings, got my flu shot, got sick because of my flu shot, and got to relax for the first time in an eternity.

What’s in your way?

Time and my environment. I’ve long since made peace with the fact that I just won’t have time to do anything until Thanksgiving break, and I’m alright with that I suppose. But now the main struggle is the environment I’m in. I’m still at home, despite supposed to have been moved back to Austin at this point, leading me to stay here for a month longer than expected. 3 weeks with my family is alright, but at this point in my life, I can only handle this long living with them. I was planning on moving back this weekend, but sickness kept me. Now I wait another week to move back.

What will you do next week?

I have a few interviews, and I’ll most likely accept my current internship offer. I’ll of course work on Phase III and the next virtualization project(s) in addition to hauling back to Austin.

If you read it, what did you think of Ethical CS?

I think it was a smidge on the long side, but the points it made are points that I don’t believe are stressed enough in UTCS. I know of only a handful of classes that contain a unit/lecture about technology ethics. If anyone is interested in learning more on the topic, I have a documentary recommendation in the ‘tips’ section of this blog.

What was your experience of functions, lambdas, and decorators?

I think it’s always neat to learn more about how Python is designed, although some of the concepts taught this week are getting into the realm of ‘not so intuitive.’ I have experience with parameter passing due to the exam and other coding problems.

What made you happy this week?

I was elated to be done with Phase II on time. I was very relieved to get a passing score on my chemistry exam. I was satisfied to get my virtualization project done. My standards for happiness at this point in the semester are rather low, but I’ll take what I can get.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Here’s an interesting documentary that I’ve been recommended that discusses the direction of digital technology and its place in a future society, where it can take us, and how it can hinder us. It’s available on Netflix, and it’s called ‘The Social Dilemma.’

--

--