Finally getting some SWEep

Andrew Deng
3 min readOct 31, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked on the project, worked on my other project, worked on my other-other project, did some homework, caught up on another class, prepared for my move back to Austin, played a lot of piano, went shopping, and accepted my internship offer.

What’s in your way?

At this point in the semester, motivation is a scarce resource. I’m currently experiencing some burnout from my 3 simultaneous semester projects, but I’ve got some good teammates on each of those projects so that’s a good thing. I’m also feeling a little trapped with my family in Dallas, so I’m glad to be moving back to Austin today.

What will you do next week?

I will finish Phase III, finish one of my other projects, work some more on my other-other project, take an exam, do some more homework, talk to friends, work out, research and register for next semester, and make an attempt to take better care of myself.

If you read it, what did you think of The Interface Segregation Principle?

I haven’t read the Interface Segregation Principle yet, and I won’t have the time to.

What was your experience of instance methods, class methods, static methods, regular expressions, and relational algebra?

I’ve never really worked with instance, class, or static methods in Python before, but I have used them with Java and it’s nice to finally learn and see how they’re implemented in Python. With regular expressions, I learned about them in high school and used them for a web-scraping project where I had to use regex to parse through HTML tags. That was a royal pain to deal with. For relational algebra, despite having used tools and commands that are based on relational algebra, this is my first time really hearing and learning about it. It seems pretty interesting so far and I’m looking forward to understanding more about it.

What made you happy this week?

There are a few things. For one, I have been getting more sleep this week than usual, which leaves me a bit more energized than I used to be. I also got all my weekend homework done ahead of time. Moving back to Austin is leaving me in pretty good spirits as well. I watched a really good movie that has left me feeling a lot of things that are difficult to put into words, but I am very glad I watched it. I’ve also found a very good bossa-nova piano cover of Frank Sinatra’s ‘Fly Me to the Moon’ that I’ve been learning for the past couple of days.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

For folks still struggling with the internship hunt and with ~$40 to spare, I would highly recommend a book called ‘Cracking the Code Interview.’ It’s pretty useful and gives some good insight into how interviewers think and some good strategies to tackle various types of technical interview questions.

--

--